The Three Different Types of Kundalini Energy Awakenings

Share This Post

Kundalini awakening—often portrayed in spiritual texts as a singular, mystical event—is, in reality, a layered and multifaceted experience. Let’s look into the three forms of Kundalini energy that might be activated throughout this profound journey, drawing on ancient wisdom. These studies are derived from both conventional wisdom and the personal experiences of people who have traveled this road.

What Are The Three Different Types of Kundalini Energy Awakenings

  1. The Awakening of Vital Energy (Prana-Kundalini)

    Imagine a sudden burst of energy in the base of your spine, like a dormant energy current suddenly coming to life. The main goal of this first step, called Prana-Kundalini, is to strengthen your life force, or “Prana,” which runs through your body and awakens every cell.

    The chakras, or energy centers of our bodies, are activated in a dynamic ballet of movement as this slithering energy rises. This may result in a strong internal cleansing of physical toxins and emotional traces. People who go through this frequently report having a fresh perspective on their purpose, a revitalized sense of creativity, and a renewed energy for life.

  2. Expansion of Consciousness (Chit-Kundalini)

    The journey inward deepens with the awakening of Chit-Kundalini following the powerful cleansing and regeneration of life energy.  The expansion of consciousness happens in this stage. Needless to say, the changes in awareness and perception are ultimately more important than the physical experiences.

    Participants frequently describe this stage as opening the “gates to the inner sanctuary” of the mind, which is home to knowledge and intuition. You are seeing the world in a different light, with boundaries between the universe and the self becoming more obscure, and everything is revealed to be interconnected. Deep, contemplative states become not only possible but naturally occur here, bringing profound healing and transformative insights.

  3. The Ultimate Oneness (Para-Kundalini)

    The third and final type of Kundalini awakening is perhaps the most mystical and least understood—Para-Kundalini. This stage is about the complete dissolution of individual consciousness into the universal source. It’s described as an “ultimate reunion”, where the sense of a separate self evaporates into the vast ocean of cosmic consciousness.

    Unfortunately, few attain this level of awakening and maintain it, as it represents the pinnacle of spiritual development. Here, the distinctions between personal identity and the broader cosmos dissolve, leaving a state of pure being or ‘sat-chit-ananda‘ (existence-consciousness-bliss).

    Now, while these phases are separate, harmonization lies at the heart of the actual Kundalini awakening journey. The goal is to balance these forces inside oneself to attain a balanced condition of life. It takes perseverance, patience, and most importantly – approaching the powerful forces involved with respect.

    This road is an adventurous one, for those who are called to it, with a promise of transformation and enlightenment that is both rigorous and fulfilling. For those in search of healing, self-awareness, or an in-depth spiritual connection, the Kundalini awakening path provides a special and possibly transformative route.

Begin Your Kundalini Journey

If you are curious about activating Kundalini energy and have a desire to experience profound healing and transformation, our Kundalini Activation Program might be the best thing for you. 

Our program offers personalized support and insights from experienced practitioners, and is designed to safely and efficiently guide you through each step of waking. 

Get started on the path to spiritual enlightenment by registering today.


  1. What are the three types of Kundalini awakening?

    The three types of Kundalini awakening are: Prana-Kundalini, which activates your vital energy; Chit-Kundalini, which expands your consciousness; and Para-Kundalini, which leads to the dissolution of the self into universal consciousness.

  2. What is Prana-Kundalini?

    Prana-Kundalini refers to the awakening of vital energy in your body, beginning at the base of your spine. It invigorates your life force, activating energy centers and initiating a deep internal cleanse.

  3. How does Chit-Kundalini differ from Prana-Kundalini?

    Chit-Kundalini focuses on expanding your consciousness and perception, deepening your internal awareness, and enhancing intuition and mental clarity, unlike Prana-Kundalini, which primarily energizes and cleanses physically.

  4. What is the ultimate goal of Para-Kundalini?

    Para-Kundalini aims for the complete integration of individual consciousness with the universal source, achieving a state of ‘sat-chit-ananda’ or existence-consciousness-bliss, representing the pinnacle of spiritual development.

  5. Can anyone experience these types of Kundalini awakenings?

    While everyone has the potential to experience Kundalini awakenings, the journey is unique and can vary greatly from person to person. Guidance and preparation are key to safely navigating this path.

  6. What are the common experiences during each type of Kundalini awakening?

    During Prana-Kundalini, expect physical sensations like energy surges. Chit-Kundalini may bring about profound mental and perceptual shifts. Para-Kundalini often leads to experiences of deep spiritual union and transcendence.

  7. Is it necessary to go through all three types of awakenings?

    While not everyone will experience all three types, progressing through these stages can provide a more balanced and comprehensive spiritual transformation.

  8. How can I prepare for a Kundalini awakening?

    Preparation should include physical, mental, and spiritual practices such as meditation, yoga, and guidance from experienced practitioners to ensure a safe and beneficial awakening process.

  9. What should I do if I find the awakening process overwhelming?

    It’s important to have support from knowledgeable guides who can provide practical advice and emotional support. Staying grounded and pacing yourself through the process are also crucial.

  10. How can I start my Kundalini awakening journey?

    Begin by learning more about Kundalini and engaging with programs that offer personalized support and insights from experienced practitioners. Choosing a guided path can help manage the intensity of the awakening safely and effectively.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get updates and learn from the best

More To Explore

5 Ultimate Day to Day image

5 Ultimate Day-To-Day Benefits of Kundalini Activation

While visions of mystics in cave entrances and Burning Man dance-trance awakenings tend to dominate the cultural conversation around Kundalini activation, there’s another layer to consider once the spiritual-fire-hose calms


What To Expect When Kundalini Activation Happens

In some modern spiritual circles, you’ll hear whispers of powerful, “serpent-like energy” lying dormant at the base of the spine — called Kundalini — and if you’re able to awaken

Do You Want To Boost Your Business?

drop us a line and keep in touch